Nigeria National League gets sponsor, to air live matches

113
Nigeria National League gets sponsor, to air live matches


Former Arsenal striker Ian Wright has given his verdict on the first penalty call against Wilfred Ndidi in Leicester City 3-1 defeat to Arsenal on Sunday.

Referee Paul Tierney had adjudged Ndidi to have brought down Pepe in the box and awarded a penalty but after the video assistant referee’s check the decision was changed to a freekick outside the box

Wright, however, believes that both VAR and Tierney were wrong insisting that Ndidi did not make contact with the Ivory Coast winger.

Arsenal beat Leicester City 3-1 at the King Power Stadium on Sunday with goals from David Luiz, Alexandre Lacazette and Nicolás Pepé for the Gunners after Youri Tielemans had opened the scoring for the home team.

Kelechi Iheanacho, playing in a number 10 role, went the distance along with fellow Nigeria international Wilfred Ndidi.

Wright told Premier League Productions at half-time, “I thought that was a good decision but for them to take as long as they did I just couldn’t see how they come up with that as a foul because I didn’t see it as a foul.

“I didn’t see the contact, I still can’t see there’s clear and obvious contact.”

Despite the defeat, Leicester maintains their third spot on the league table.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.